Mark Lanegan Band – A Thousand Miles Of Midnight

Music is often compared to food. Imagine this. You’re cordially invited to my house for dinner. I’m serving a black angus t-bone steak, with a side helping of potatoes. Everything’s organic, and cooked to perfection. Then, I put the steak and potatoes in a blender, puree it with a little salt and water, and serveMusic is often compared to food. Imagine this. You’re cordially invited to my house for dinner. I’m serving a black angus t-bone steak, with a side helping of potatoes. Everything’s organic, and cooked to perfection. Then, I put the steak and potatoes in a blender, puree it with a little salt and water, and serve it to you piping hot, in a plastic bag with the instructions “cut one corner out of the bag and squeeze the paste into your mouth to enjoy.” It’s the same great steak and potatoes, but it’s served to you in a confusing, new, and sort-of unsettling way. The familiar texture, richness, and even one of the most basic tasks of eating – that of chewing – are removed. To a metal and rock listener, such is A Thousand Miles Of Midnight, an album of remixes that feature Mark Lanegan‘s vocals as their sole connecting thread. It’s my very first foray in to “electronic music”, and I’m not going to sugar-coat it or lie. I have no idea what I’m supposed to be listening for, and I have no idea what standard of quality there is for music made on computers. I’m confused, and I […]

Continue reading on Mark Lanegan Band – A Thousand Miles Of Midnight.

