Shining – IX: Everyone, Everything, Everywhere, Ends


Shining were not a band to me until I got this review. I was totally unaware that they existed. Since then I have got very familiar with their back catalogue and their “controversial” outlook and themes. It with that said that these are not a happy or fun band; there is little entertainment to be hadShining were not a band to me until I got this review. I was totally unaware that they existed. Since then I have got very familiar with their back catalogue and their “controversial” outlook and themes. It with that said that these are not a happy or fun band; there is little entertainment to be had and at best every album is a deep, dark reflection on being depressed and embracing it. They promote suicide and self harm; that has huge issues however we get the taboo out in the open. You get honesty. Shining are the most honest metal band I have heard in years. “IX: Everyone, Everything, Everywhere, Ends” is no exception. It plays with black metal’s use of atmosphere and dark tones to create a beautiful picture of one man’s pain. This is weaponized and made into a cutting black metal assault. That is some feat; everything is in Swedish. I don’t speak Swedish but you can literally feel the tone, and the DSBM intent of Kvarforth. Shining seem to be beyond the trite BS of others in the scene and the “conventions” that can hurt a lot of great bands. Yes, their themes are very problematic but […]

Continue reading on Shining – IX: Everyone, Everything, Everywhere, Ends.

