Enslaved – In Times


The danger of reviewing a band that you like is that you’ll either be too harsh or too easy on them. I had my fears that this would be the case with the new Enslaved release, In Times. Gladly, I was wrong. Enslaved are one of the first Scandinavian bands to tease out what black metal is andThe danger of reviewing a band that you like is that you’ll either be too harsh or too easy on them. I had my fears that this would be the case with the new Enslaved release, In Times. Gladly, I was wrong. Enslaved are one of the first Scandinavian bands to tease out what black metal is and start pulling it away from its core origin sound. Each album seems to have this in goal in mind and I love it. It keeps things interesting and redefines a genre which can and has some bands that use the “core black metal” sound to hide sloppy playing or poor production. The new offering from the Norwegian lads really drives this goal home. Most of the tracks toy with the “traditional black metal” sound and then smash it open; only to rebuild with melodic breaks and soaring prog-metal codas. If you’re a fan of this, stop reading and buy the album. If you need convincing, here we go. Track two, “Building With Fire” is my standout track. The nearly nine minute Odyssey runs the spectrum of Enslaved’s sound with a pumping melodic body to crushing blackened metal vocals. I love the clean vocals of the verse; it’s […]

Continue reading on Enslaved – In Times.

