Erja Lyytinen – Live in London


I must admit to not knowing anything about Erja Lyytinen, until her latest cd drop on my doormat, it is called Live In London, so had me thinking that I must be missing out on something special, and I was right.

On October 7th 2014, Erja Lyytinen rolled into London’s iconic venue the 100 Club forI must admit to not knowing anything about Erja Lyytinen, until her latest cd drop on my doormat, it is called Live In London, so had me thinking that I must be missing out on something special, and I was right. On October 7th 2014, Erja Lyytinen rolled into London’s iconic venue the 100 Club for an evening of live music. At her side, Erja was accompanied by a crack band featuring long-time musical partner Davide Floreno, bassist Roger Inniss and drummer Miri Miettinen. Live In London mixes brilliantly chosen covers with an impressive amount of original material. Opening up with an old Fred McDowell track ‘It’s A Blessing’ it’s like meeting a long lost friend, every feels right, from the opening a cappella through to the guitar outro, this song oozes class. Throughout the gig Erja sings with a beautiful soulful voice, and then she picks up her guitar, and then it’s wow, she can play, her solo’s are fluid and convey a range of emotions that only a true blues musician can do. And she can play slide guitar. And play it exceptionally well. The slide work on ‘Let It Shine’ is outstanding, couple that with her warm […]

Continue reading on Erja Lyytinen – Live in London.

